Total noob; done my research and need some help.

Discussion for anything counter-steer RC drifting!
Mandy
What's CS?
What's CS?
Drift Chassis: Whatever you're going to sell me

Total noob; done my research and need some help.

Postby Mandy » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:33 am

I can't even tell you how many hours I've spent researching stuff in regards to putting together my first RC drifter. I've been to a bunch of sites and forums, watched countless reviews and videos, and browsed eBay and Craigslist for hours on end in an attempt to figure out what would work for me and my budget.

Initially I was going to buy a HPI Sprint 2 off CL for $180, even thought it would mean a two hour drive to Orlando, so I figured I'd do some more research.

Then I was going to bid on one on eBay, but I forgot about it and it sold for $150 without me bidding.

After that, I figured I might as well look at some forums and see what's available in the 'for sale' section, and I saw a Sakura D3 CS Chassis here on the forums for $150, but then I found this Sakura D3 on eBay, for the same price with a radio and ESC ($40 shippiing from Hong Kong is a bit of a buzzkill, but it still seems like a good value).

But then I realized it needed a motor and I went on a wild tangent trying to figure out what motor would be good for drifting, that was brushless. What I gathered 27T is good for begninners, and 13.5T brushless is a rough equivalent, but other than getting a sensored motor I really couldn't find any general consensus.

Adding to that dilemma, I then would have to pick up a battery/charger, which I'm equally ignorant about.

So I was wondering if anyone can help me put something together for approximately $300 RTR. I'm not opposed to spending more if it's that much better, but it's just a soft budget I've put into place.